Eylesbarrow tin mine is now a very tranquil place to sit and enjoy the views down to the sea or across the moor.
There is still plenty of the mine working to explore but care is needed as there are 25 shaftheads dotted around along with the remains of the spoil heaps.
Although mining probably took place here before, the first written evidence of activity was for the sale of shares in a mine called Ailsborough in 1804.
The mine had mixed fortunes, opening and closing as
the price of tin fluctuated but it did open Dartmoors only smelting
house in 1822 which meant the ore did not have to go to Cornish mines
Along with tin, Kaolin or "Forest Clay" was sold and the local mines brought their
black tin to Eylesbarrow for smelting.
In 1852 the mine was closed for the last time and all it's equipment
was auctioned off. This is probably evidence that all the recoverable
tin had been extracted as at that time tin prices were high so would have been a
bad time to close.
Closest Parking at the Scout hut then follow the track up the hill.